Austar Coal Mine Austar Coal Mine

Community Consultative Committee

The Austar Community Consultative Committee (CCC) holds meetings on a quarterly basis.  The purpose of this committee is to provide a forum for open discussion between representatives of the company, the community, the council and other stakeholders on issues directly relating to the mine's operations, environmental performance and community relations, and to keep the community informed on these matters. 

The committee operates in accordance with the Department of Planning and Environment's Community Consultative Committee Guidelines, November 2006. The committee is chaired by an Independent Chairperson who receives a professional fee from Austar.  Austar's Independent Chairperson was considered suitably qualified and experienced by the Director-General of the Department of Planning and Environment, and has been appointed by the Director-General to chair Austar's CCC.

The current members are:

Ms Margaret MacDonald-Hill (Independent Chairperson)

Cr Mark Lyons (Cessnock City Council)

Mr Alan Smith (Community Representative)

Mr Peter Sturrock (Community Representative)

Mr John Rayner (Community Representative)

Ms Ashlee Baker (Community Representative)

Mrs Carly McCormack (Austar Coal Mine)

Mr Brian Wesley (Austar Coal Mine)

Mr Josh Chadwick (Austar Coal Mine)

Should you wish to speak with a committee member regarding the operation, their details can be obtained by calling 4993 7200.